Southport, an island about 5 miles long and 3 miles wide, is connected to the mainland by a modern swing bridge through which many pleasure, excursion, and fishing boats pass daily. Formerly known as Cape Newagen Island, it is the site of the region's earliest settlement, and it was first visited by Europeans in 1623, although Native Americans were using this area as their wintering grounds much earlier.
Basically, a rural residential area, it is both a popular retirement and working class community. It too has several boatyards of various sizes. There is one general store. A small well-maintained and highly respected school system offers an education for children in Grades K - 6. Children of middle school and high school age attend Boothbay Region Elementary School and/or the Boothbay Region High School. The Southport Memorial Library at Cape Newagen is open Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays year-round and features a unique tropical butterfly collection.
The Hendricks Hill Museum houses some fine artifacts from previous generations. It is possible to view two lighthouses from scenic areas around the island.